MINUTES OF FACULTY SENATE MEETING September 20, 2016

Prof. Fernando Guzman called the Full Faculty meeting to order at 11:46 am in UU Old Union Hall. He welcomed President Harvey G. Stenger and turned the meeting over to him.

President Stenger began his report to the Full Faculty meeting attendees. See attached PowerPoint presentation for details. Presentation can also be found at http://www.binghamton.edu/faculty-sena

Faculty Senate September 20, 2016 Page 2

TAE program. Prof. Guzman asked about the process for termination of a TAE that may not be working and the process for forming a new TAE. Even though a TAE is not a program, faculty do play an important role in academic life at the university, and the recent decision to create a new TAE did not involve any faculty, Faculty Senate, or Campus Governance Leader participation.

A: President Stenger answered that he felt our process to form good one. He hopes that the evaluation committee will work with the group that is looking at forming a new TAE. Provost Nieman noted that there were some ideas that had come about when were formed; he has also put out a call for proposals for new faculty evaluation process seems like a logical thing to do may be too late to wait until this current TAE evaluation is completed. The call for suggestions for new will be out in a few days and the deadline for proposals is December 15. The evaluation will be done early in the spring semester so we can get a group together in late spring with it getting going next fall. Provost Nieman noted that the decision regarding the sixth TAE will be made by members of the ACSR committee augmented by several additional faculty. The ACSR does evaluations of the Organized Research Centers and they zed R

Faculty Senate September 20, 2016 Page 3

Faculty Senate September 20, 2016 Page 5

Melissa Zinkin

Present: Laura Anderson, Rosemary Arrojo, Serdar Atav, Christopher Bartlette, Anne Brady, Cassandra Bransford, Elizabeth Casteen, Manas Chatterji, Zu Yan Chen, Kenneth Chiu, Junghyun Cho, Cynthia Connine, Leon Cosler, Daniel Davis, Heather DeHaan, Heather Fiumera, Leslie Gates, Christof Grewer, Robert Guay, Fernando Guzman, Colleen Haile, Christopher Hanes, Stephanie Hess, Barry Jones, Jonathan Karp, Changhong Ke, Katja Kleinberg, Kristina Lambright, Richard Lee, Alistair Lees, Marla Mallette, Tami Mann, Sandra Michael, Robert Micklus, Natalija Mijatovic, Nagendra Nagarur, Richard Naslund, Donald Nieman, Vladimir Nikulin, Neil Christian Pages, Sara Reiter, Pamela Smart, John Starks, Harvey Stenger, Dana Stewart, Jennifer Stoever, Ruth Van Dyke, Adrian Vasiu, Sara Wozniak, Bogum Yoon, Hong Zhang,

Excused: Sharon Holmes, Jay Newberry, Carolyn Pierce, Hiroki Sayama