## MINUTES OF THE FACULTY SENATE MEETING May 7, 2013

The third Faculty Senate meeting of the 2012-2013 academic year was called to order by Prof. Alistair Lees at 11:47 p.m.

- 1. <u>Minutes</u> A motion was made to approve the minutes of the April 23, 2013 meeting as submitted. On voice vote, the motion was approved.
- 2. <u>Obituary Notices</u> Prof. Lees notified the body that Prof. William Vandament, Professor Emeritus of Psychology and Prof. David Buttolph, Professor Emeritus of Music passed away. As is established practice, a note of condolence has been sent to their families on behalf of the Senate.

## 3. Reports

Prof. Howard Brown (History and Chair of Faculty Senate Executive Committee) reported on Faculty Senate Executive Committee's work for 2012-2013 academic year.

- o Provost Donald Nieman and Donald Loewen -- Online education and the role of the Faculty Masters; Center for Learning and Teaching expansion and appointment of Prof. James Pitarresi.
- o President Harvey Stenger -- Roadmap process and the resulting 46 projects.
- o President Harvey Stenger and the Budget Review Committee New money targeted for the new initiatives in the roadmap.

The FSEC nominated members for the TAEC and the search committee for the Dean of Harpur. FSEC met with the four candidates for the Harpur dean and made recommendations to the search committee. Next week the FSEC will be nominating faculty for the search committee for the dean of CCPA.

Changes in undergraduate programs and curriculum and the role of EPPC, which is being chaired by Sara Reiter, School of Management. There are adjustments to undergraduate programs that in some instances are rather minor but still need to go to the State Education Department. Our concern is at what level does EPPC or FSEC engage in any curriculum revisions. Our conclusion was that any changes that would result in a degree or certificate should be reviewed carefully by EPPC. Track, drop, or add changes for various programs may not warrant review but the process is still being worked out. In that vein, Bioengineering had gone through various substantial revisions several years ago and only came to the attention of EPPC recently. EPPC is now looking at this and will be assessing the program and its success. Changes to LACAS and Math actuary track and Sociology were deemed insufficient and did not need EPPC and FSEC review.

All are aware of the tentative contract being negotiated with UUP and New York State. FSEC has issued a statement (below) in opposition of the contract which was sent to all faculty. Some FSEC members met with the negotiating team while they were on campus. A report on FSEC's statement will appear in <a href="Inside">Inside</a> later this week.

The United University Professionals has recently negotiated a tentative contract with the State of New York. In addition to other unappealing features, the proposed contract would eliminate the 1% Discretionary Salary Increases (DSI) that have been included in earlier contracts. These increases were given to the base salary of individuals receiving the increase. The tentative contract eliminates the former DSI, reduces the amount of discretionary money made available to 0.5%, and specifies that it be distributed solely as one-time bonuses that will not be added to base. This means that, no matter how much faculty or professionals excel in teaching, research or service, their base salaries will be exactly the same as if they did nothing. This change will greatly compromise the university's ability to encourage and reward exceptional accomplishment, to address salary inequities and to provide salary increases for individuals receiving promotions. Therefore, the Faculty Senate Executive Committee of Binghamton University urges faculty and professionals in UUP to vote against the tentative agreement.

## 4. Approval of degree candidates

A motion made to approve list by Prof. Matthew Johnson, seconded by Prof. Knuepfer. The list was approved by a vote of 38 for, 0 opposed, 0 abstentions.

## 5. New business

a. Election of 2013-

Faculty Senate Meeting May 7, 2013 Page 4 of 5

associate deans, and the directors and associate directors (Approved by faculty in mail-ballot in September 2009) of the library and athletics. (Approved by faculty in mail-ballot in November 2007).

On a voice vote, this change was approved.

c. Resolution to restore NSF funding for political science and in support of peer review

instead has told SUNY that by June 1 they need to provide a stabilization plan to the legislature. We do not know where this will lead.

Capital funding is still an issue. The Chancellor said the System was caught by surprise by what happened in capital funding. There is not as much impact on this campus; other campuses have had to put projects on hold.

Policy on changing grades – SUNY is asking campuses to define proper procedures for changing grades and recognizing the primacy of faculty in this regard.

Open SUNY for expanding different approaches to online and other kinds of education -- Chancellor Zimpher has formed three groups to oversee the broad elements of Open SUNY initiative: 1) to examine the impact on traditional student enrollments, 2) to evaluate credentialing of external sources of online courses, and 3) to oversee program delivery of tuition money if student is taking courses at more than one institution.

Prof. Lees notified all Senators to email him and Prof. Brown if there are any issues Senators wish to discuss in the coming academic year.

Prof. Brown wished to thank Prof. Knuepfer his service to our Faculty Senate and the University Faculty Senate.

There is also a concern about the attendance to Faculty Senate meeting. If any Senators have suggestions on how make the Faculty Senate meetings more vigorous and more participatory, please contact Prof. Brown or Prof. Lees.

After no other business, the meeting adjourned at 12:34 p.m.

Present:

Tania Alameda-Lawson, Jeffrey Barker, John Baust, Mark Blumler, Donald Boros, James Burns, Gisela Brinker-Gabler, Howard Brown, Sharon Bryant, Subimal Chatterjee, Scott Craver, Jill Dixon, Jennifer Gordon, Douglas Holmes, Matthew Johnson, Peter Knuepfer, Les Lander, Anne Larrivee, Michael Lawson, Alistair Lees, Harold Lewis, Patrick Madden, Marcin Mazur, Thomas McDonough, Randall McGuire, Robert Micklus, Rosmarie Morewedge, Donald Nieman, Stephen Ortiz, Sara Reiter, Pamela Sandoval, Steve Seepersaud, Thomas Sinclair, Jim Stark, John Starks, Eugene Stevens, Gary Truce, Deanne Westerman, Charles Westgate, Zili Yang

Excused: Frederic Deyo, Solomon Polachek, Harvey Stenger

Absent:

Allan Arkush, David Bartine, Christopher Bishop, George Catalano, Yulong Chen, Zu-yan Chen, Jungyun Cho, Joseph Church, Laura Collins, Eric Cotts, Magdelena Czubak, Deborah Elliston, Salvador Fajardo, Ross Geoghegan, Vincent Grenier, Surinder Kahai, Christopher Knapp, Jonathan Krasno, Ji-Song Ku, Dina Maramba, Sarah Maximiek, Robert Mess, Debi Mishra, H. Richard Naslund, Eseosa Olumhense, Seungbae Park, Lisa Savage, Dale Tomich, Wendy Wall, David Wilson, Jeffrey Yates, Melissa Zinkin